In the majority of historic towns, “life” takes place on market squares. It is different in Radom! 
The heart of the town is Żeromskiego Street, a former route leading to Lubin, which is vibrant with life. The unique atmosphere of the Radom promenade is created by tenement houses of the 19th century with many architectonic details reflecting the affluence of townsmen of that time.

At the entrance to the tenement house number 4, two dwarfs have crouched. Overhead, there is a “Kasia” neon sign, which once lighted a grocer’s shop at Żeromskiego Street. The shop was closed, but the sign remained. It arouses the interest of the Museum of Neon Signs in Warsaw.

In turn, inside the house number 5, you can admire a plafond with the image of a white eagle.
Żeromskiego 21 and Witolda 2: numerous ornaments over windows, sculptured window frames and a striking bay window are characteristic elements of these two tenement houses.

Slightly above, at number 36, there is the Kierzkowski Palace. The architecture of the palace draws on rural aristocratic palaces. The palace was decorated with four semi-columns and a panoply, i.e. a low relief with military motifs: cannons, flags and sabres.

The central part of the promenade at the Fountains. The meeting place for inhabitants, the place of events: the central part of the promenade.

Near the central part of Żeromskiego Street, there is Konstytucji 3 Maja Square. Here, the richest resident of 19-century Radom, Teodor Karsch, built his house. This is the only town palace modelled after residences of Łódź and Warsaw industrialists, which was built by Radom industrialists. The building draws on the French Renaissance. A balcony over the entrance gate is supported by two Atlants.

A little bit farther, at number 35, behind the fountains there is a former building of the Rural Credit Society. It looks like a rural manor house. Near it, on the walls of the tenement house number 37, you will see a dozen of little angels and images of ancient philosophers.

At the end of the “Lubelski Route”, an impressive building was constructed in 1827: the seat of authorities of the Sandomierz Voivodeship with Radom as the capital city. With four two-floor high columns, it resembles an aristocratic palace.

The Radom promenade hides various titbits.
• The street is almost 200 years old. Only 150 years ago, there were small gardens and arable small fields in the place of today’s richly decorated tenement houses.
• At number 15, there was the “Rzymska” Restaurant, which operated there from the 70s of the 19th century. In 1923 President Stanisław Wojciechowski had dinner there.
• At number 51, there was a famous restaurant of Stanisław Wierzbicki, which hosted, among others, Captain Charles de Gaulle, later President of France, as well as President Ignacy Mościcki, and painter Józef Kossak.

The unique atmosphere of the Radom promenade is created by tenement houses of the 19th century with many architectonic details reflecting the affluence of townsmen of that time. The tenement houses and urban palaces at Żeromskiego Street are real architectonic pearls and discovering their beauty will crown your trip.